Black Magic

Black Music

One of several soul/funk/disco compilations I found in the PDSA this week. Apparently they’d just arrived that morning, so I was able to cherry-pick the best stuff.

Released in the mid-70s on Arcade Records, ‘Black Music’ is a pretty decent survey of then currently popular music by black artists. As you’d expect, it’s mainly soul and funk, with Rupie Edwards’ “Ire Feelings (Skanga)” the only representative of Jamaican reggae. I vaguely remembered the song’s catchy ‘skanga, skanga’ refrain from childhood, as this was an unlikely top 10 hit back in November 1974. The interesting thing I notice about the song now is that it is, in essence, a dub reggae track, almost totally stripped-down to the backing rhythm, with occasional flashes of guitar and organ, lashings of echo etc. Yet it has a full vocal on top, which seems quite unusual to my ears. And I’m sure it would’ve been a bit of an oddity at the time. The only example of a hit novelty dub record in the UK charts?

Also nice to finally have The Tymes’ “You Little Trust Maker”, even though that one jumps a lot near the end (the vinyl isn’t in great condition unfortunately) along with the O’Jays’ magnificent “Love Train”. Lots of warm sounds from my childhood leaking through here.

It still has the original price sticker, which reveals that it’s first owner bought it in Woolworths for £2.49.

Published in: on August 21, 2009 at 10:43 pm  Comments (5)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thriftyvinyl.wordpress.com/2009/08/21/black-magic/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Great! This was the fist LP I bought. Must have been 1975 and I was 12 years old. I looked for it in my old stuff, but couldn’t find it :(, but it is so nice to see it here! Congratulations!

  2. ah, my parents had this one. I used to listen to it all the time. Dad recently got rid of all his old albums, it’s like he chucked out my entire childhood!

  3. Black Magic or Music?

  4. Charity shop classic ! Some top top tunes on there ! Peace, Love & Tea, MHx

    • Welcome onboard MS.


Leave a Reply

