Hits Of The Rocking 70s

hits70s

As I’ve hinted before, I have this ongoing obsession with chart-pop from the period roughly 1975-1983 (where I seem to like most things) with a white hot period within that from 1978-81 (where I seem to like just about everything, regardless of merit). The earlier half of the 70s remains an alluring blur…I was very much alive then, but too young to really retain any strong musical memories. Certain songs stuck in my infant head, like ‘Chirpy Chirpy Cheep Cheep’, ‘Popcorn’ and ‘You Ain’t Seen Nothing Yet’, and groups like Pilot seemed to be a big deal, but I’m still trying to get to grips with the period, to really feel that I understand what was going on in the popscape of 1970-74.  Why? Dunno really…it just seems a lot more interesting than the popscape of 2009.

So when I come across poptastic compilations like the one above (on Contour), or the one below (On Arcade) I am inextricably drawn to them, for I believe they will hold further vital documentary evidence that will somehow unlock the doors of perception, part the mists of time, and let me breath the air of the early 70s all over again, with the keen ear of the adult anal-obsessive, rather than the carefree abandon of early childhood.

DSC02697

But alas, I still don’t ‘get’ the early 70s, and I don’t think I ever will. But I don’t think I’ll ever stop trying…

Published in: on October 13, 2009 at 8:45 pm  Comments (5)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thriftyvinyl.wordpress.com/2009/10/13/hits-of-the-rocking-70s/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I got the ‘Fantastic Hits’ on Arcade LP for Xmas one year when I was nothing more than a nipper – and sad or not – this was a repeat player for me for many years – until I could afford to go mad and persue a life-long addiction of vinyl buying. A superb disc – packed full with classics ofthe period – still own it – – and dare I say – when I get home will dust it off and spin it up …

  2. interesting that you reckon its ‘packed full of classics’ cos there’s several things here that were completely new to me, even though they charted at the time. that Bay City Rollers track, for instance that seems to pre-date all their better known hits by a couple of years (and produced by that other nasty pedo jonathan king) featuring a really inept ‘false ending’. Blackfoot Sue and Vicky Leandros completely passed me by at the time too. weird and banal in equal measures. i like it…but i still don’t get it.

  3. Blackfoot Sue – great stuff – this was my first exposure to the Staple Singers – excellent stuff … Deterk and the Dominos / Mary hopkin / Slade – not to mention T-Rex .. what more do you need for an intro into early 70s pop !!

  4. its certainly a better intro than any of those ‘Best of the 70s’ cds you see in the supermarket. its a truthful, contemporaneous account of the times, rather than a feeble nostalgic trawl through the established history. and it even smells old.

  5. ..and i love the fact that you’ve been clinging onto your childhood copy all these years. that has its own special reality


Leave a Reply

