Tina Charles – Heart ‘N’ Soul

tinafront

DSC02843

Oh, Tina. Sweet Tina. How my heart yearns for thee.

A session singer thrust into the spotlight by the mercurial success of “I Love To Love”, your star shone briefly but brightly, with your sad eyes and shrill, cut-glass vocal delivery, backed by the sure-footed skills of producer-of-the-moment Biddu.

This album came out towards the end of your tenure as high-priestess of Brit-disco and was a fine swan song, notable for such overlooked classics as “I Gotta Dance With You” ,  “Fallin’ In Love In The Summer Time” (essentially a remake of “I Love To Love”) and a perfectly respectable version of “I’ll Go Where Your Music Takes Me”.  It cost me next to nothing, but the emotions it evokes, and the times it invokes, are priceless.

I love you, Tina Charles.

Published in: on November 9, 2009 at 11:03 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thriftyvinyl.wordpress.com/2009/11/09/tina-charles-heart-n-soul/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I’m happy I’ve found a fellow admirer of Tina Charles and especially of this album! My sister and I used to play this album over and over back in the 70s when we were kids growing up. My favorites are Love Bug and Ain’t Gonna Hide My love. 🙂 Priceless memories, indeed. God bless Tina and hers.


Leave a Reply

