Yes – Time And A Word

DSC03104

DSC03105

I’ve always been of that post-punk view which dictates that Progressive Rock is basically, inherently wrong. I have lived all my adult life by that basic principle; consequently I’ve always shunned the classic albums of the genre.

But now I’ve reached a point in my life where I think “aaah, what the hell..?”

So I guess if you’re gonna start somewhere you might as well start at the beginning – wherever that is! Fate decreed that I would cross paths with a copy of Yes’ 1970 long-player “Time And A Word”, but I can’t be sure how full-on prog this is – it’s prior to the classic line-up, so no Steve Howe or Rick Wakeman, but we do have Jon Anderson on vocals, along with Bill Bruford (who I think went on to join King Crimson) bashing the skins.

I’ve been quite enjoying it. It’s okay to admit that I can pass a pleasant 40 minutes with a Yes album. No biggie. But maybe I should go and play a Fad Gadget record now, just to restore my sense of self.

Published in: on February 3, 2010 at 6:33 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thriftyvinyl.wordpress.com/2010/02/03/yes-time-and-a-word/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

