Amii Stewart (1979) (Atlantic K50593)

Last week I reluctantly passed over this Amii Stuewart album on Atlantic. I was in a hurry, I’d spent extra money on the Anthology DVD box and it just didn’t seem right at the time. I regretted it as soon as I was in the car driving home.

But, to paraphrase a crappy American film ad (probably), sometimes in life there are second chances. And, sure enough, Miss Stewart was waiting for me in all her £1-wide-eyed-legs splayed-“Oh, you just startled me as I hustled unawares in my Egyptian/Martian/Disco Queen/slit up to my hips/barely there dress” glory. The album’s (and Amii’s) lone hit that I’m aware of, a discofied version of Eddie Floyd’s “Knock On Wood” extends to six or seven ponderous minutes of poorly thought out repetition. Where was Walter Gibbons when they needed him?  The oddball cover of “Light My Fire” goes on even longer, but has a far superior breakdown leading to a gospel-style, double time rave-up at the end.

The rest of the album proceded accordingly: A good disco record, not a great one.

Published in: on March 28, 2010 at 6:45 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thriftyvinyl.wordpress.com/2010/03/28/another-sunday-another-boot-fair/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. light my fire was a massive hit too, and i looove it!! haven’t heard the album, mind. i can imagine there’s prob a couple of fillers in there, but i would def buy this if i came across it


Leave a Reply

