Super Bad (K-Tel NE 499) (1974)

I remember this album being advertised on TV–“bad” ironically meaning good was something I couldn’t quite get my young tow-headed head around.

When I was visiting Washington D.C. last year, the Smithsonian Institution had an expanded CD version of this, now iconic, Lp for sale.

Check out that tracklist, homeeze; instant party at only 2p a song–beat that I-freakin’ Tunes.

EDIT: here’s the 1973 US Super Bad (K-Tel NU427) tracklist for contrast and compare fun. I can only assume the differences are based on chart position.

Isaac Hayes – Theme From Shaft
Staple Singers – Respect Yourself
Millie Jackson – My Man, A Sweet Man
Fredrick Knight – I've Been Lonely So Long
Barbara Mason –	Give Me Your Love
Detroit Emeralds – Baby Let Me Take You
Love Unlimited – Walkin' In The Rain With The One I Love
Joe Simon – Power Of Love
Sylvers, The – Wish That I Could Talk To You
Timmy Thomas – Why Can't We Live Together
Chi-Lites, The – (For God's Sake) Give More Power To The People
Freda Payne – Band Of Gold
Chairmen Of The Board –	Gimme Just A Little More Time
James Brown – Good Foot Part One
Joe Tex – Igotcha
Honey Cone – Want Ads
Presidents – 5-10-15-20 (25-30) Years Of Love
Free Movement –	I've Found Someone Of My Own
Main Ingredient – Everybody Plays The Fool
Jerry Butler – One Night Affair
Published in: on April 30, 2011 at 6:51 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thriftyvinyl.wordpress.com/2011/04/30/super-bad-k-tel-ne-499-1974/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Soul Brother No. 1 here: I bought a cassette of the UK version – track listing on top – in early 74, I think, and played it right through countless times without fast-forwarding. It was that good.

    Just looking at the track listing, and some faves that I probably hadn’t heard since the tape finally departed to Wow-Flutter Hell:
    ‘One Girl Too Late’
    ‘Lonely Days, Lonely Nights’
    ‘When You Get Right Down To It’
    ‘Will It Go Round in Circles’

    even Stevie’s gorgeous ‘Superwoman’!

  2. Is there any way I can get this on cd as my original LP is just about knackered? PLEASE HELP!!!!

    • I’m sure it’s available online as I saw it for sale at the Smithsonian, but a quick scan reveals nothing.


Leave a Reply

