Def Beats – Ten Non-Stop Full Length 12″ Mixes

Released in 1987, this collection promises “the hardest hip-hop in the world direct from New York City” and certainly represents exactly what my 18-year-old self would’ve been playing on the tape deck of my Ford Cortina back in the day.  In fact I bought lots of Hip Hop compilations (on cassette) back then, so its quite surprising I never bought this one.

To be honest, hearing this relentless barrage of beats, scratching, grainy samples and second division MCing now makes me feel terribly old and even gives me a slight headache. No wonder my dad hated this stuff. I still love it in principle, but I’m gonna take it off the deck and put something else on now before I have to take some Neurofen.

Published in: on December 13, 2011 at 11:07 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thriftyvinyl.wordpress.com/2011/12/13/def-beats-ten-non-stop-full-length-12-mixes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. He’s ba-ack!


Leave a Reply

