Lulu – New Routes (Atco 228 031) (1969*)

I wouldn’t, of course, normally bother with a VG+ Lulu Lp, but the personnel (the Muscle Shoals crew) and production crew (Wexler, Dowd, Mardin) convinced me to part with a pound for this Dusty In Memphis manquée today at Demelza House. It certainly wasn’t the cover or the typography.

Sure enough, this record sounds great, the band on excellent form; nonetheless, one gets the nagging feeling that the lead singer is playing at lead singing, her moves seem thin and a bit pat. Still, Lu’s Southern Soul take on Traffic’s “Feelin’ Alright” is more than credible. Made for TV soul, p’raps?

*Discog and Wikipedia say 1970, but the Atco label says 1969, so ’69 it is.

Published in: on June 16, 2012 at 3:14 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thriftyvinyl.wordpress.com/2012/06/16/lulu-new-routes-atco-228-031-1969/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Harsh but fair. Never could stand Lulu – but my other half has adored her with since they were both 16. She now looks younger than she did back then, unlike him, so OH has gone off her all of a sudden. Gotta love OH as he sold all his treasured 1960s American import vinyls albums to afford to marry me. We still have a few old LPs between us. Love the scratchy ‘mussed up sounds’ on vinyl. Unlike the transfer to CD versions, where we can actually hear how out of tune the artists were in those days with no modern technology to correct their voices. Sighs.

  2. Guess the person who applied the price sticker didn’t much care for Lulu! I always had a soft spot her her (looks more than voice to tell the truth) and still treasure my MFP Most of Lulu Vol.1. which might just have been the very first LP I bought. Lately though she’s slipped down my rankings, recent TV appearances have somehow left me thinking that she is perhaps not the nicest of people to know. I’ve heard a few tracks of New Routes and reckon you are bang on re her her vocal abilities.
    This UK ATCO was a surprise to me. I didn’t know ATCO was a label in the UK, and the label looks American – much to colourful for British releases generally around then – was it a straight lift of the US label design current then ?

  3. The only ATCO label I recall was the yellow one with the color wheel on the left hand side; this looks like it’s been adapted from the regular Atlantic label.

  4. I always liked this LP and I appreciate that you are hosting it. Does anyone have a link to this recording as I cannot find it here? thanks!


Leave a Reply

