Ornette Coleman – Skies of America (KC31562) (1972)

Thrifty Vinyl, at least the Prince Asbo branch of the triumverate, will be on vacation to US of Frickin’ A for the next three weeks. In commemoration, I am posting this “difficult” orchestral Ornette Coleman Lp which I bought on the green in Hythe last spring. Suffice to say I much prefer his small group Atlantic material.

I’ll be checking in here, but unlikely to post while abroad. I’m on a seriously tight budget that might even preclude Stateside thrifting! Perhaps others can pick up the slack in my absence.

Published in: on August 1, 2012 at 6:43 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thriftyvinyl.wordpress.com/2012/08/01/ornette-coleman-skies-of-america-kc31562-1972/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Great cover. As a lover of jazz I got around to listening to Ornette some years ago and I was suprised just how listenable he is – probably not all of his stuff I guess though. Haven’t heard the above record.

  2. Reblogged this on Thrifty Vinyl and commented:

    RIP Ornette.

  3. is there anything this guy did that wasn’t “difficult”?

    • To those with an open mind, the first couple Atlantic albums are relatively accessible.


Leave a Reply

