Celluloid Presents Disco-Rough

DSC00454

Hello (says he, peeping his head sheepishly round the door at Thrifty HQ).  I’m the fella that started this blog a few years ago. Remember me? I was the one who posted all those stupid easy listening and K-Tel records.

Well, it seems that I haven’t posted anything here for over a year, so I thought it was about time I got my thumb out of my ass and did something about it. It’s not that I haven’t the time to blog, but I haven’t really been on the vinyl hunt much in recent times, so haven’t had much to report. But going through some records in my stash recently, I realised there were quite a few interesting artifacts I had yet to document here. So here’s the first of (hopefully) several new posts from Yours Truly.

So, what we have here is the splendidly titled ‘Disco-Rough’ compilation from Celluloid Records, released in 1982.  Only six tracks on the platter, but at least you get a reasonably decent, loud-ish pressing. Celluloid was established by the Frenchman Jean Karakos in Paris, so perhaps its no surprise that the record opens with the minimalist rockabilly of Alan Vega’s “Juke Box Babe”, which (it still amazes me to say) was a bit of a hit in France. Vega’s tremulous Elvis-Iggy delivery is up there with some of his best vocals, and the track retains the relentless repetition associated with his work as one half of Suicide, although here he trades in Martin Rev’s synth-noise for the guitars of Phil Hawk.  Not my idea of ‘Disco’ in any shape, way or form, but a welcome opener nonetheless.

Another name that might be familiar is that of Material, who contribute two tracks. “Secret Life” is their pulsing synth-disco ‘classic’, whilst “Upriver” is a mash-up of latin percussion, funk horns and southern-blues-rock, with a nice twangy guitar that puts me in mind of some mid-period Captain Beefheart.

The remaining tracks are filled by lesser known acts Elli &  Jacno and Mathematiques Modernes who each contribute some perfectly listenable alternative dance music of the era. Quite pleased with this purchase.

Published in: on January 31, 2013 at 11:18 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thriftyvinyl.wordpress.com/2013/01/31/celluloid-presents-disco-rough/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

