Why I Don’t Participate In Record Store Day (apart from buying records at charity stores and bootfairs, obviously)

The four 7" singles re-released in the early 1980s by Edsel

Above, the four mid-60s 7″ singles by The Action re-released in the early 1980s by Edsel Records. Possessed of an appealing, soulful lead singer and an exciting, imaginative rhythm section (not to mention a rabid Mod following and the patronage of producer George Martin), The Action remain inexplicably unloved outside a relatively narrow cognoscenti. Despite owning half of them, an 8x 7″ box set of all the band’s singles was one of two RSD releases this year that tempted me.

How many records bought on Record Store Day were re-sold on Record Store Night?

That this is a legitimate question for grumpy old men is one of the ironies of RSD. Designed to attract footfall into bricks ‘n’ mortar music emporia, RSD has become instead a frenzy for internet quick-flippers eager to prey on the greedy and stupid. While this can’t be 100% true, I still wonder who among those punters standing in the hour-long queue at Whitstable’s Gateway Sounds, say, were legitimate, regular patrons and how many were simply scrabbling to grab as much product as possible, like crazed Christmas parents beating each other over the head at FAO Shwartz and Hamleys to secure Cabbage Patch Dolls or Tamagotchis. It’s this rabidity, this rabble-led avariciousness that I find so unattractive. Raw capitalism, market forces, supply and demand, blah, blah, blah.

It’s possible, likely even, that some people in that line get a buzz from the experience, but it’s not for me. I can’t be bothered.

Now at least one Thrifty Vinyl reader I know subsidises his high-priced RSD purchases by over-buying and selling on the excess. As a cheapskate, this makes a bit more sense to me, despite reservations; I do something similar with my second-hand shopping, just at a far, far slimmer profit margin.

I suppose this year I was particularly bitter as there were two RSD item that I would really liked to have picked up, The Action set mentioned above and a super-nice Jef Gilson et Malagasy collection from Jazzman. I buy regularly from Jazzman, but because of Record Store Day “rules”, I may not be able to own Malagasy without paying way, way over the odds. And I don’t roll like that–it’s not called Thrifty Vinyl for nothin’.

So I leave you to your jive-ass, many-times re-issued David Bowie 7″s, your over-priced Aerosmith 70s albums and your (seriously) One Direction singles; I’ll be celebrating Record Store Day the rest of the year when there aren’t so many people in the way.

 

 

Published in: on April 25, 2014 at 8:50 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thriftyvinyl.wordpress.com/2014/04/25/why-i-dont-participate-in-record-store-day-apart-from-buying-records-at-charity-stores-and-bootfairs-obviously/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. i’d never previously heard of “record store day”, but then again it seems very much an american invention so i’m not surprised (if it were british it would be “record shop day”). however, no doubt like everything else in blighty, as we are now practically the 51st state in cultural terms (i fucking hate it when even people of my own generation – never mind the yoof of today – ask me “are you good?” rather than “are you well?” or “are you alright?”!) i would presume that many such emporia here now have their own “celebrations” of this event?

  2. […] I did participate in Record Store Day, if only virtually. And you will be pleased to hear that I didn’t have to entirely abandon […]

  3. […] last year’s harsh dismissal (and subsequent retrenchment), I allowed myself to go whole hog for RSD 2015 and properly stand in […]


Leave a Reply

