The Light of the World – Round Trip (ENVY 14) (1980)

SAM_0638Giles Peterson may have time for this sort of thing, but I’m afraid I don’t. No question about the band’s chops, but cheery jazz-funk ain’t my bag. This only cost me a pound last week at the thrift store, so I don’t feel too aggrieved, but I still had to listen to the Wailers’ Burnin’ Lp straightaways after just to get the taste of LOTW’s oh-so-tasteful take on “I Shot The Sheriff” out of my ears.SAM_0639

Published in: on February 2, 2015 at 9:39 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thriftyvinyl.wordpress.com/2015/02/02/the-light-of-the-world-round-trip-envy-14-1980/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. like most british jazz-funk outfits of that era, they tried too hard…

  2. I think I would have left that one behind but I salute you for giving it a go.

    Good day yesterday digging at a few local thrift stores. Paid a bit more than usual for a nice copy of Ram by Paul and Linda – enjoying it very much though. My cheapskate tendencies were then fully satisfied by 2 quid purchases of some Bowie, Steely Dan, The The and Beatles LP’s. The lovely lady even gave me a quid off Ziggy as cover was poor. I have yet to enjoy the thin white duke narrating Peter and the Wolf which was also part of my vinyl haul.

    Later spotted some singles at 2 for a pound – White riot by the Clash being one of a nice punk job lot.

    Happy days.

    • Very happy indeed.


Leave a Reply

