John Holt – Treasure of Love (WB11) (1977)

SAM_0665Here’ s a turn up. Reggae singer John Holt died several months before I purchased this JA press Lp of his last Sunday at the Hythe Cricket Ground boot fair. I’m not a huge fan of his, all that crossover nonsense, with strings and that, set my teeth on edge, but I had hopes for this one given its ‘Down Yard’ provenance.

SAM_0666I have to say I prefer my reggae a little more doctrinaire (i.e. less Lover’s) and less obviously tuneful (i.e. more ‘groove’ based) than this rather old-fashioned (for 1977) album; nonetheless, it’s a good listen and of surprisingly high-fidelity for a record of physical Jamaican origin.

SAM_0667‘Weed Beat’. Ha.

Published in: on April 15, 2015 at 6:40 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thriftyvinyl.wordpress.com/2015/04/15/john-holt-treasure-of-love-wb11-1977/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

