Thrifty Bits

Thrifty Bits 'sleeve'

Yes, I know we’ve stated before that there will be no MP3 sharing on this site, but it was starting to become apparent that some sort of sonic statement needed to be made. What follows is the first Thrifty Vinyl mixtape;  a selection of tunes from some of the records featured on the site so far, segued together into an hour-long audio adventure that we hope will amuse, intrigue and inspire.

Stream the mix below –

Thrifty Vinyl – Thrifty Bits by farmerglitch
Tracklist (click on track titles to view the original blog entries that featured them…)

1. F.C Judd – Electronic Sounds and Effects for Electronic Music
2. Jimi Hendrix – Star Spangled Banner (Live in LA 1970)
3. Fausto Papetti – Meeting
4. Victor C. Lewis.  – Bird Recognition (An Aural Index)
5. Klaus Wunderlich – Canari-Cha-Cha
6. Anarchic System – Popcorn
7. Sylvia – Pussycat
8. The Glitter Band – Angel Face
9. Jack Larson – I Love The Way She Laughs
10. Bedlam – The Beast
11. Abdul-Karim Al-Azawi – Tabl Improvisation
12. George Blackmore – Fly Me To The Moon
13. Geoff Love – Space Patrol
14. Cameron – Close Encounters Of The Third Kind
15. Unknown – Born to be Wild
16. House Crew – We Are Hardcore
17. Steven Smith & Father – The Third Man Theme
18. Sue Wilkinson – You Gotta Be A Hustler If You Wanna Get On
19. The Islanders – Lie Stone Dead in the Market
20. BWD Productions – Johnny Reggae
21. Los 3 Sudamericanos – El Funeral Del Labrador
22. Surprise Sisters – La Booga Rooga
23. Danny Hodgson – All Of Me
24. Tony Back – Star Wars
25. Space DJs – Celestial Funk
26. Alan Haven – In The Still Of The Night
27. Rose Murphy – I Can’t Give You Anything But Love
28. Claude Denjean – Come Together
29. Derek Cox and his Trio – Something

Love and thanks to our friend 2nd.Fade for the conceptual album sleeve. We hope one or two listeners out there might actually construct their own hard format version of this mixtape using the graphics provided.

CD back

Published on October 19, 2009 at 8:54 am  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is:

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] Thrifty Bits […]

  2. Hello again,

    today I have seen the link in a new post, I am playing it right now and I like it a lot. But I also see (for the first time now) a statement above that says there are generally no links posted to share the music. OK then, I wished I had known that.

    It is nowhere to be seen in any of the posts I had been receiving then, and I was actually wondering what the point is to introduce weird records that nobody can listen to. Obviously these are obscure unknown albums that nobody has in their own household. So what is the point of writing a review about a record that the readers don’t have and cannot listen to themselves?

    I am usually on blogspots, where the music is shared, and when I read somebody’s comments about an album, I can listen (download) it and then make my own opinion about that, then entering it (my opinion) into the comments. That is how it makes sense to me.

    I am also disappointed that I have never received any reply from you in the 2 and a half months I was asking you about the music you were introducing.

    But thanks for the mixtape, that is really good. It says Volume 1, so does that mean there is hope for a follow-up? OK, for that I will keep the subscription going. Thanks.

  3. there will be another mixtape this summer. promise!

  4. Wow, thanks, I am very much looking forward to that!

  5. Good Mix-anything that includes the glitter band and klaus wunderlich willdo for me.Hope another mix Is’nt too far away 🙂

  6. Hi darnall,
    how small is the world…

    Yes, I am also waiting already for the follow up.
    This was indeed a good mix.

  7. still waiting…

    is that second volume still to come?
    I mean, the summer came and went since we chatted over this?

    I would be very glad to see it coming, until then I am looking at your pictures.

  8. well this proves one thing: my promises ain’t worth shit!

    the only excuse i can give you is that myself and farmerglitch are both very busy with other musical projects at the moment. hopefully we will get something sorted out at some point in the not-too-distant future…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: