Categories
Compilations

Street Level – 20 New Wave Hits

stretlevelfront

streetlevelrear

Ronco’s attempt at a slightly edgy, streetwise New Wave collection. Worth it for the cover alone. Wotta babe!

The tracklist veers from the utterly predictable (Stranglers, Pretenders, Boomtown Rats), the fairly predictable (Ian Dury, Tom Robinson, XTC), the not-quite-as-predictable (Magazine, John Foxx, Plasmatics), and then there’s “A Walk In The Park” by The Nick Straker Band, which totally made my day. I didn’t recognise the name at first, but as soon as I heard the first 10 seconds it all came flooding back. I guess I haven’t heard this song since it just nudged into the top 20 back in 1980, but the reunion was utterly divine. Great track, great lyrics, and I’m so glad to have it back in my life.

4 replies on “Street Level – 20 New Wave Hits”

Thanks for this. I was looking for this – used to have it and wanted to find the track listing – I bought it after seeing advert on TV.
I remember the volume being very low on the record – noticed when I taped it – probably because they had to squeeze so many tracks on – can’t imagine what a well-worn one would sound like!

Wow, searching for this album for years. Had it in my collection when i was a teenager. My first acquaintance with New Wave. Never left it…
So today, i made a Spotify play list.

Leave a comment